The Root Chakra in Meditation

The root chakra also called as muladhara chakra is found in the sacrum, which is located between the hips and tailbone.

It controls our physical self and also helps us feel grounded. When this energy is balanced, you will be able to stay calm when facing stressful situations.

When you meditate, you are not just calming your mind. Instead, you are getting into the state of being present. This allows your subconscious mind to process information that is important to you. With this technique, you can get answers to problems and solve them.

The first thing you need to do to start your meditation practice is to sit comfortably on a chair or a couch. Try to relax, close your eyes, breathe deeply, and focus your attention on your breathing. Take 10 seconds to inhale slowly and then exhale slowly.

It may be difficult at first, but eventually, you will develop the ability to concentrate without thinking about anything else.

The Characteristics of Muladhara Chakra

 The Muladhara represents the foundation of your personality. If you experience any problems in your life such as money worries, emotional trauma, or mental health issues, it is likely that this chakra needs some work.

You may not be aware of how your emotions affect your daily life. When we feel happy, sad, angry, or nervous, those feelings can manifest physically. In turn, they can cause certain changes to take place in your physical body. For example, if you’re feeling anxious or depressed, then the chemicals in your brain will start to change. This is because your hormones are being affected by the thoughts you are thinking and by your emotions.

Root Chakra Symbol

The Root Chakra Symbol- Color is Red

The root chakra symbol has a downward-facing triangle within a square within a circle. On the outside, there are four petals.

  • Pulling the energy downward through the root chakra and down to the earth is an alchemical symbol for the element of this chakra. The triangle embodies the grounding quality of the first chakra.
  • The square has four sides, which symbolizes base foundation of a stable structure. A balanced root chakra serves as a steady bas and help open other chakras.

  • The four petals on the root chakra lotus symbolize stability and structure as well as the four mind-states; Manas (mind), Buddhi (intellect), Chitta (consciousness), and Ahamkara (ego). The four-petaled lotus as a whole signifies the birth of human consciousness because the root chakra is the starting point. 

Signs of an Imbalanced Muladhara Chakra

The Muladhara Chakra plays a key role in our physical well-being.

When this center is balanced, we can experience better sleep, higher self confidence, increased willpower, and a greater sense of spiritual connection. However, if this center is out of balance, then we can develop feelings of unhappiness, depression, anxiety, anger, stress, fatigue, exhaustion, sadness, loneliness, and other negative emotions.

How to Balance the Root Chakra

Sound of Root Chakra

When we talk about de-stressing, we don’t just mean relaxing on a beach somewhere. De-stressing means feeling lighter and more energetic than usual. To do this we need to balance our root chakras. These are energy centers located in the base of your spine. They help us stay grounded and centered in life.

For example, if you feel drained because you’ve been overworking, try spending some time doing yoga (especially pranayama). In combination with breathing exercises, this will open up the root chakra. While breathing you should put your attention on the mooladhara . you can also recite the matra LAM pause and again LAM.. as the sound of the root chakra is LAM.

Do this for 5 minutes to 15 minutes daily with focus on the mooladhara or root chakra.




By doing so you’ll be able to focus better, think clearer, and deal with situations effectively.

Color of Root Chakra

The color of Root chakra is Red. Visualization of color Red at the base of spine helps cleansing and balancing the mooladhara.

Gemstones like garnet and bloodstone can be placed on the area of the root chakra while lying still helps in allignment.

Some Yoga Aasanas which help

– Pavanamuktasana, knee to chest pose
– Janu Sirsansana, head to knee Pose
– Padmasana, lotus flexion
– Malasana, squatting pose

You may like

Meditation : What exactly it is?

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your Spiritual Truth